Andrew Murray on Humility

Humility is perfect quietness of heart. It is for me to have no trouble; never to be fretted or vexed or irritated or sore or disappointed. It is to expect nothing, to wonder at nothing that is done to me, to feel nothing done against me. It is to be at rest when nobody praises me and when I am blamed or despised. It is to have a blessed home in the Lord where I can go in and shut the door and kneel to my Father in secret and be at peace as in a deep sea of calmness when all around is trouble. It is the fruit of the Lord Jesus Christ’s redemptive work on Calvary’s cross, manifested in those of His own who are definitely subject to the Holy Spirit.

Andrew Murray

10 thoughts on “Andrew Murray on Humility

  1. thats exactly the definition of humility! i can see thatandrew murray used the help of the holy spirit to define it! i can definitely understand the in depth meaningsince iam also a subject to the divine counsellor

    1. I saw this definition one time on the internet andlost the quote and could not remember who wrote it it is the best quote i have ever seen on humility I just found it now March 2, 2012

  2. When I was 12-13 years old in the late 1960’s this is a poem I read in one of my aunt’s old poem books. I loved this poem and had written it down in the front of my first Bible. My precious Bible burned in a house fire and I am so glad to find it again! This poem helped me in many situations in my early Christian walk. Even not having it to read for years I would always remember the words that said – to expect nothing, to wonder at nothing done to me, to feel nothing that is done against me, to be at rest when nobody praises me.

  3. Thank you kindly for your generous git to us the body of Christ.
    Rest assure that I will put a link on my personal web page for friends to eat a good scroll.
    I have Andrew Murray’s daily devotional and has transform my life in new humility ventures.

  4. A little story….

    In 2003, I was flying out of Chicago on my way home to Australia, when I began speak to an unknown woman next to me. She asked me if I read the bible and we began speaking about the feminine Wisdom and Mary. At the end of the conversation, she gave me a little paperback – Humility by Andrew Murray. I am ashamed to say that I pre-judged the content based on the design, size and other unimportant factors. So I did not read beyond Page One, and tossed it on my bookcase when I arrived home.

    Years passed and I found myself repeatedly in circumstances where I was undone by pride and believing that I owned a “territory”. Finally, I began to do some serious work dealing with this illusion, that we can ever own anything.

    Then one day recently, while lying down for relaxation after a lovely dru yoga class, I “saw” with my inner eye a thickening in inner space, something glowing a kind of purple in the distance. Then a figure appeared, placed both arms across her/his chest and bowed. That was all. Due to a progression of recent events, I recognized this as a glimpse of humility, far distant from me as a divine quality and utterly outside myself but at least forming as a possibility through grace.

    It was only then that I “remembered” that I had a little book called Humility at home.

    What a treasure it has proved to be; and how essential – there in flight with me full of judgement – the brief circumstances that enabled it into my life.

    Kind regards to readers of this lovely writer.

  5. What a great truth found in this quote, sometimes as humans, it would be so easy to retaliate in the flesh when something is being said against us, specially when it is not true or when we are falsely accused, but this is so true; there is a great need in our lives to keep a humble spirit. Thank you Lord for your great example!

    I love what Philippians 2: 5:11(KJV) says: 5 Let this mind be in you, which was also in Christ Jesus: 6 Who, being in the form of God, thought it not robbery to be equal with God: 7 But made himself of no reputation , and took upon him the form of a servant, and was made in the likeness of men: 8 And being found in fashion as a man, he humbled himself, and became obedient unto death, even the death of the cross. 9 Wherefore God also hath highly exalted him, and given him a name which is above every name: 10 That at the name of Jesus every knee should bow , of things in heaven, and things in earth, and things under the earth; 11 And that every tongue should confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.

  6. I encountered this quote a few days ago, and wondered immediately why it is entitled “Humility” instead of “Serenity.” Asking for God’s Serenity, through “The Serenity Prayer” is a main ingredient of all recovery groups, and I’ve found the concept of Serenity a core ingredient in the lives of the productive throughout Scripture. For that matter, I agree that humility and serenity go hand-in-hand, just as one of AA’s founders wrote a book entitled “Not God,” a title that sums up an addict coming to terms with his humble state. An addict must realize he or she is Not God and that everything does not happen according to his or her wishes, and it’s okay, don’t get worked up about it (and don’t act out through an addiction to regain a high), accept the beauty of the peace that only God can provide. Back to the title, while Serenity and Humility are neighbors and cousins, and while I love this quote, I’m fairly confident it speaks more closely to Serenity, and thus saying that, I’ll keep my serenity and be humble about it, and probably use it with a title I prefer (since it is in the public domain) 😉

Leave a Reply

